Teachers’ Day: OGSA Principal, Ogunleye Okeowo bags Presidential, State Awards

By Dupson Collins, October 2023

In the just concluded World Teachers’ Day, the Princpal of Oyemekun Grammar School, Mr Ogunleye Okeowo wore a dual cap as both the Federal and State Governments conferred different categories of awards on hm.

The 2023 President’s Teachers and Schools Excellence Award ( PTSEA) was held at Eagle Square Abuja while the State Award was held in Aquinas College Akure respectively.

At the Award Ceremony in Abuja, Mr Ogunleye Okeowo was adjudged Ist Runner Up- Best Administrator Public Schools in Nigeria by the Federal Government.

In the same vein, in recognition of his laudable contributions to Education Development in Ondo State, he was conferred with Best Teacher in Secondary School for the 2023 Edition of Teachers’ Day.

Speaking at Eagle Square, the substantive Education Minister and his Minister of State counterparts, Tair Mamman and Yusuf Sununu respectively emphasised the importance of continuous training and skill development for teachers in Nigeria.

The teachers were also advised to be appreciative of efforts by the Nigerian government to reposition the teaching profession in the country.

They said this at the 2023 commemoration of the global event in Abuja, Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory (FCT), as part of the activities to mark the day that is set aside to honour teachers for their various contributions in the Education Sector.

The Ministers said Nigerian Government decided to honour outstanding teachers and schools in various categories of the 2023 Presidential Teachers and School Excellence Award as a way of showing appreciation to the invaluable roles of teachers in nation building.

Chatting with Newsmen at the Eagle Square, Mr Ogunleye thanked the Governor of Ondo State, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu SAN for providing enabling environment for teachers to perform saying different welfare packages of the governor motivated teachers to give their best in their professional services.

While also appreciating the Honourable Commissioner of Education, Pastor Femi Agagu, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education and TESCOM, Mrs Adegoke F.A. and Mrs Adeyemi Tolu and Staff of the school for their support, he promised to continue to add value to education development Ondo State.

Meanwhile, the Principal waa represented at the State Award by his Vice Principal.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button