Ondo Pharmacists Hold AGM As New Executives Inaugurated

…. New PSN House Commissioned, Merit Award Given To Outstanding Members

The Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN), Ondo State Chapter has held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Akure, the State Capital where the outgoing chairman of the association, Dr Abiodun Aiyeku gave account of his stewardship within the last three years of his tenure.

Dr Abiodun Aiyeku chairmanship of PSN was between 2018 to 2021.

The AGM has a combined events as the election of the new executive was held, commissioning of the new PSN house, investiture of Merit Award on outstanding members and official inauguration of elected state executives.

In his valedictory address, Dr Aiyeku said his chairmanship has delivered beyond all the promises made while aspiring to lead the association.

He highlighted some of the laudable feats of his administration which included increase in internship slots for young pharmacists, opening up of more young community pharmacists in the rural area, Elder Trust Fund, Ondo State Health Contributory Scheme, a new Pharmacy House, Pharmacy Department increased to two in the Ministry of Health among others.

Dr Aiyeku said he was lucky in his time as the first Pharmacist was appointed by the governor to head the Ministry of Health in Ondo State.

” We have increased the board membership in government board and parastatals from 2 to 7 creating additional membership. We have opened up 4 Permanent Secretary/ General Manager position to our Pharmacist which were initially closed to them “

Dr Aiyeku disclosed further that, the major breakthrough of his tenure was the Multi Billion Federal Mortgage Bank Loan to build a 150 Housing Estate for Pharmacists, the first FMB/PSN partnership in the country.

” I started the negotiation 3 years ago and it was just a month to the end of our tenure that we got approval from the Federal Mortgage Bank”.

He charged the new leadership of the PSN to be focused and determined while discharging their duties and responsibilities bequeath on them by the members of the association, noting that they must endeavor to surpass whatever his administration was able to achieved.

While Speaking with PATH, the National President of PSN, Pharm Sam Ohuabunwa commended the outgoing executives under the leadership of Dr Aiyeku for their resilience and resourcefulness in transforming the state PSN to enviable height.

While advising the new executives to promote unity and love among its members, he frowned at the manner Community Pharmacists were being neglected by Nigerians Government.

” Community Pharmacists were not recognized in Nigeria unlike advanced countries like America; government should come to the realization that the Community Pharmacists are very important arm of the Primary health care”.

In his acceptance speech, the new Chairman, Pharm Akindeko Eniola solicited for the cooperation of all members, adding that his administration is welcome to constructive criticism provided it is in the best interest of the association.

On his part, the National President of the Association of Community Pharmacists of Nigeria (ACPN) Dr Samuel Adekola said the big task ahead of the new executives is re-uniting every stakeholders in the association, saying they can only achieve if PSN in Ondo State is united.

He lauded Akeredolu led government for supporting the appointment of Pharmacist as the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Health. ‘ Since the creation of Ondo State, this is the first time a Pharmacist will be appointed as Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Health; it is a, good thing that this is happening to us”.

The National President commissioned the PSN new House along side other state past chairmen of the association.

The peak of the event was the presentation of Merit awards to outstanding individual and members of the association who have distinguished themselves in their line of duties with the association.

Those honored were, Hon Akinrogunde Akintomide, Member of the Ondo State House of Assembly, Oba John Ebunola Aiyeku, Pharm (Mrs) B Y Bosede (JP), Dr Akinrutan Akindele (JP), Pharm Amos Ayegbusi, Pharm Solomon Adebanji, Pharm Babatunde Kehinde, Dr Abiodun Gbemileke Aiyeku, Pharm Gbenga Moses Ogunnaike, Pharm (Mrs) Yemisi Adaiyen Akerejola, Pharm (Mrs) Nihinlola Olowosusi, Pharm Bamiduro Dada and Pharm (Mrs) Felicia Feyisayo Akinrutan.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button