Collins Dupson,12th November,2021

Ondo State Government has appointed some outstanding sons and daughters of the state as Special Road Mayors that would compliments Vehicle Inspection Officers in Traffic management and control.

The official inauguration was held at Cocoa Conference Hall, of the Governor’s office in Akure.

The Governor who was represented by his Deputy, Hon Lucky Aiyedatiwa declared that ” the inauguration of this voluntary organization known as Road Traffic Special Mayors is another effort at ensuring that we have sustainable enforcement of sanity on our roads, taking cognizance of the fact that safety on the road is a collective responsibility”.

“The desire to reduce to the barest minimum the occurrence of road crashes, loss of time due to traffic jam and quick response in case of any clash in and around the State necessitated the launch and inauguration of the Special Traffic Mayors” , the Governor said.

Going furthergurther, Governor Akeredolu said, “you will be required to render volunteer services that will assist in traffic management, especially in areas that are prone to traffic congestion throughout the State, assist in rescue operations especially those that are health professionals among you and enlighten both drivers and commuters on how to prevent road crashes particularly during these ’ember’ months.

The Governor believed that ” all the Special Mayors will see their inauguration as a call to duty and work assiduously to ensure that sanity returns to our roads and traffic logjam is reduced to it’s bearest minimum in our dear State”.

With the Deputy Governor at the event are, Deputy Speaker ODHA, Rt Hon Samuel Aderoboye, Ondo State Chief Justice, Justice W.A Akintoroye, Head of Service, Pastor John Adeyemo, Commissioner of Finance, Hon Wale Akinterinwa, Commissioner of Justice and Attorney General, Sir Charles Titiloye, Deji of Akure, Oba Aladetoyinbo Ogunlade Aladelusi, Olowo of Owo, Oba Ajibade Gbadegesin Ogunboye, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transport, Pastor Kayode Ogundele and others.

Some of the Special Road Mayors are the proprietress of Mummy’s Place International School, Dr Damilola Oshin, State President of National Council for Women Societies (NCWS), Pastor Mrs Jumoke Aborode among others.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button