By Collins Dupson

It was a gathering of who is who in the pharmaceutical world as the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) inaugurated its new President, Prof. Cyril Usifoh and equally conferred its prestigious fellowship awards on 112 deserving pharmacists who have distinguished themselves in their various areas of practice as well as overall contributions to advancement of the profession in Nigeria.

The inauguration and investiture took place at the Congress Hall of the Transcorp Hilton Hotel Abuja on February 10, 2022. The programme theme was tagged; Reigniting The Society: Connecting The Dots, under the chairmanship of Dr Josephine Awosika.

It could be recalled that,the fellowship award is the highest award of the society that any pharmacist would dream of getting from the parent body of pharmacists in Nigeria. Just as lawyers value SAN, it is a life time achievement to be conferred with fellowship by PSN.

Out of the 112 new fellows, Ondo State chapter of PSN has four of its members conferred with the prestigious fellowship award. On the list is the immediate past chairman of the society in Ondo State,Dr Aiyeku Abiodun; Permanent Secretary of Ondo State Ministry of Health, Mrs Aladenola Folukemi; Dr Nwedozie Fergus, a Community Pharmacist and Mrs Oke Mary, the CEO of Betak Pharmacy.

Among dignitaries at the inauguration of the new president and investiture of fellows were the Minister of State for Health, Dr Olorunibe Mamora, the Minister of Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Raji Fashola and the Minister of Mines and Steel, Pharm Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, Mr Lekan Adegbite, among others.

High profile personalities from Ondo State graced the investiture among who were Mr Dare Aragbaiye, former Head of Service and Special Adviser to Ondo State Governor on Union Matters and Special Duties, Commissioners, Permanent Secretaries and politician of repute.

Also in attendance were Pharm Bode Ogunjemiyo, former Chairman of PSN, Ondo State Chapter, Dr Samuel Adekola, former President of ACPN, friends, family and siblings of celebrants among others.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button